“Jackie”

The new film Jackie with Natalie Portman is getting good reviews. I have not had a chance to see it yet but I watched the trailer and have seen some ads. To my big surprise, on the ads I saw a pink Chanel suit that I made in 1995 for Roma Downey (she played Jackie) for the mini series  A Woman Named Jackie!

untitled-2

The reason why I recognized that it is that very suit is somewhat curious. The mini series covered the period of over 30 years, starting with the Bouvier family and finishing with her marriage to Onassis. The Kennedy’s assassination was a relatively small part in that film and I did not want to spend a lot of money on the costume for that scene, especially as I needed three identical suits for the bloody action. We spent quite a bit of money on many gowns. As for that suit, I asked  a tailor that usually did uniforms for us to build it.
So, his forte definitely was not in couture. I looked at the suit’s shoulders and jokingly asked if he used the same pattern as he’s been using for uniforms. I was not thrilled with the cut of the suit!
Well, 20 years later I see it on Natalie Portman! In fact, I think the alteration was not made well: the buttons are not straight, the shoulders are too big.
What is your opinion?
unnamed
unnamed-1
unnamed-2
unnamed-3
unnamed-4
unnamed-5
Leave a Reply

